Past Legions of Goblins

October 24, 2007 at 7:53 am 1 comment

Catepillar

For your consideration I have a lil’ thing I did in Photoshop the other day.

I’m in love watercolor paper texture, so i try to use it even in the computer. Also I was really inspired by an artist named Gustaf Tenggren. I first saw his work on some illustration blogs but then recently found out that he was a concept artist for Snow White.

His work is really stunning, and I love his muted parchment tones and want to do some more of that stuff in my work.

Whenever I sit and doodle, i usually gravitate towards a few types of animal characters. Squids and octopus top the list, but caterpillars are a close second. Things are just better with an over abundance of limbs.

My favorite part in fantasy stories is when the hero has to visit the wise sage who has all the answers, and knows exactly what the antagonist needs to complete the journey. It’d be nice if sometimes when we get stuck with the big decisions in life you could just walk through a murky swamp, through an ancient forest, up a snow covered mountain past legions of goblins into a cave where a giant catepillar will just tell you what to do.

But…maybe that’s just me. I mean, you’d have to listen to a giant caterpillar right?

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Thirsty For More Happy Halloween

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. chrislane  |  November 4, 2007 at 11:19 pm

    maybe you just have some unresolved “alice” issues.

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

October 2007
M T W T F S S
    Nov »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

Most Recent Posts


