The Misadventures of Solitude

February 27, 2008 at 1:05 am 4 comments

winterbottom_bow.jpg

A lot of changes have been taking place lately. The first big news item is that I am no longer working for the good old Walt Disney Company. I learned a lot at Disney Interactive, and got to have input and responsibility well beyond my experience.But A few steady gigs came my way near the end of last year. By going freelance I could concentrate on my own work more as well as pick and choose my projects. It has something I wanted to do for a long time so I decided “what the hell” and took the plunge.
One of those projects I am now able to work on is the independent game “The Misadventures of P.B. Winterbottom”. It is the brainchild of Matt Korba a grad student at USC. My buddy Paul Belezza is helping to produce the project and brought me on to contribute my illustration skills.

Using a silent movie era visual style, the concept is about a man obsessed with Pie. So obsessed that he breaks the space-time continuum by time traveling and generating copies of himself to aid in his journey for sweet tasty slices of pie.

I was in love with the concept instantly. The other great thing about the project is that I get to do most of the work in a visual style I don’t normally work in. Matt chose to go for a French new wave, meets Edward Gorey sort of a look. I have been trying to meet his vision as well as add my own sensibilities to the mix.

The trick has been to take existing character designs in 3d and translate them to look just as good and quirky in 2D. So I created my own rendition of the character based on Matt’s 3D model as the launching off point1698581413_60b3e814f9.jpg

“Korba’s world”

winterbottom_pose.jpg

“My version”

I started by doing some simple concept sketches of some of the main characters that will be in the game. a few of which are below:

wb_sketch_1.jpg

“Winterbottom himself”

wb_sketch_3.jpg

“Quick designs for cops and robbers”

wb_sketch_2.jpg

“The love interest sketches”
Then they needed a design for their t-shirts. So I created the below illustration to try and capture the quirky charm of the game’s main mechanic.

wb_tower_color.jpg

” T-shirt design”

I wanted the design to be printed really big positioned asymettrically on the shirt. Certain limitations prevented that for the time being.

t-shirt-concept.jpg

“Original design proposed”

Hopefully once the project is over we can make some high quality versions. But they still came out cool.

2269565027_8b5819c4c5.jpg

Recently I branched off into designing some of the 2d backgrounds.

background_forest.jpg

background_roof.jpg

The team went up and presented the game at the ’08 Game developers conference last week and got all sorts of kudos. You should check the game out at the official website:www.winterbottomgame.com

Some more drawings and sketches can be seen at the game’s blog. I am going to be helping out moving forward so I’ll keep updating some cool stuff here when I can.

The game is still in progress but should be done by May, and hopefully with more involvement by myself.

I wanted to get back in the swing of things blog wise one step at a time. However, I have a bunch more work to publish over the next couple weeks, as I have been keeping busy and want to share. Coming soon I’ll throw up sketches for my upcoming promotional campaign, figure drawings and even an illustration of a giant spider.

It’s true, all you have to do is believe.

– Vincent

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Zuzu’s petals Listen to the Rex

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. the girl w/ the clums  |  February 29, 2008 at 12:35 am

    amen! i believe!

    hip hip hooray to all on the winterbottom successes!

  • 2. postethotic  |  March 3, 2008 at 5:53 am

    fantastic, love!

    It looks absolutely wonderful.

    All my congratulations.

    .sam

  • 3. » The look of Winterbottom  |  May 19, 2008 at 5:31 am

    […] age.  Vincent Perea Has a blog on his art process and how we modified the look of Winterbottom. You can check it out here   . posted by Korba at 9:31 pm […]

  • 4. gretchen  |  June 11, 2008 at 8:43 pm

    Hey Vincent, I’m sorry I haven’t seen your blog in a while….because the stuff you are doing is awesome!

    I love that you are doing game art! We should definitely stay in touch, you’re such an inspiration. Keep it up dude.

    Have you seen that game “Spore”?? I can’t wait for it…Blows my mind.

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

February 2008
M T W T F S S
« Nov   Jun »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
2526272829  

Most Recent Posts


